Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Torublemaker: Princess Mi Amore Candenze

This can be a confusing card!

It's originally played as a traditional face-down troublemaker.
On the following turn it turns face-up and blocks the problem. (With a power of 5 and a scoring bonus of 2 points if it is defeated in a troublemaker faceoff).

However, its owner also has the choice, during their Main Phase, to pay 4 Action Tokens to dismiss an opponent's Friend. Then this card (a troublemaker) move to the opponent's Home. (No, it does not count towards their Home Limit as it is still a Troublemaker). Now the opponent gains control of Princess Mi Amore Candenze.

But this is where it can become somewhat confusing.
What exactly does this mean, gains control of a troublemaker at Home?!

Basically you have three choices.

  1. Do nothing, let Princess Mi Amore Candenze at Home.
  2. Pay 4 and active this card's ability (dismissing their opponent's Friend and then this card changes hands again!), or
  3. Pay 1 and play as a traditional troublemaker (being played face-down onto a Problem)*.

* Rule 609.2c  (Play a Troublemaker) states: "The turn player may pay 1 action token to play a Troublemaker face-down to a Problem" during their Main Phase.

1 comment:

  1. On hindsight I don't believe you can "play" this card as a Troublemaker after its ability has been activated.

    Pg.'s 14-15 of the rule book(s) (either Premiere or Canterlot Nights) is states, "To play one of these cards [Friends, Resources, Events, Troublemakers], pay its action token cost, then put the card into play".

    This card - at either player's Home - is a card already in play.

    Further, from the Comprehensive Rules, Rule 506.1 & 609.2b refer to moving as an action exclusively for characters. Characters are defined as either a Friend or a Mane Character. Not a Troublemaker.

    Therefore, after its ability is activated, its only options are to either do nothing and let it sit at you Home, or activate its ability (cost of 4).